Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 National Incident Management System (NIMS)

The summary for the Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 National Incident Management System (NIMS) grant is detailed below. This summary states who is eligible for the grant, how much grant money will be awarded, current and past deadlines, Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) numbers, and a sampling of similar government grants. Verify the accuracy of the data provides by visiting the webpage noted in the Link to Full Announcement section or by contacting the appropriate person listed as the Grant Announcement Contact. If any section is incomplete, please visit the website for the Department of Homeland Security - FEMA, which is the U.S. government agency offering this grant.
Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 National Incident Management System (NIMS): Our nation faces a wide range of threats and hazards. As FEMA's 2018-2022 Strategic Plan states (under Strategic Objective 2.3: Posture FEMA and the Whole Community to Provide Life-Saving and Life-Sustaining Commodities, Equipment, and Personnel from all Available Sources), "No one agency or organization is able to store enough equipment, supplies, and commodities, or marshal enough internal teams to quickly and fully meet all the needs of a catastrophic incident. These devastating incidents necessitate the collective assets and contributions of many supporting organizations aligned through a coordinated structure." Communities can address these challenges by using a systematic approach that builds on proven preparedness activities. The National Incident Management System (NIMS) provides stakeholders across the whole community with the shared vocabulary, systems, and processes to deliver the capabilities described in the National Preparedness System (NPS). The implementation of NIMS directly supports Quadrennial Homeland Security Review (QHSR) Mission 5: Strengthen National Preparedness and Resilience and Goal 5.3: Ensure Effective Emergency Response. To this end, the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) provides at the national level a consistent and reliable approach to emergency resource allocation.EMAC, which is a congressionally ratified mutual aid compact that defines a non-federal, state-to-state system for sharing resources across state lines during an emergency or disaster. Signatories include all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. EMAC's unique relationships with states, regions, territories, and Federal organizations, such as FEMA and the National Guard Bureau, enable it to move a wide variety of resources to stabilize community lifelines immediately after an incident. EMAC, established in 1996, is a national mutual aid compact that offers assistance during governor-declared states of emergency. It assists states in sending personnel, equipment, and commodities to support disaster relief efforts in other states. This NOFO aids EMAC's development and maintenance of a consistent system for the request, dispatch, use, and return of resources necessary to support local capabilities during incident response and recovery operations. The development of a multi-jurisdictional, interstate regional mechanism for coordinating incident management and obtaining assistance to stabilize community lifelines immediately during large-scale, complex, or catastrophic incidents will help to build, sustain, and deliver the core capabilities essential to achieving the National Preparedness Goal of a secure and resilient nation. The FY 2020 NIMS cooperative agreement supports the priority to enhance mutual aid capabilities through EMAC to advance implementation and support the whole community to provide lifesaving and life-sustaining commodities, equipment, and personnel. The NIC's two strategic priorities listed below illustrate the NIC's efforts to enhance the emergency management partnership between FEMA and the EMAC administrator: Integrate stakeholder feedback in the development, implementation, and updating of national doctrine, guidance, and technical assistance to ensure their relevance and value to whole community emergency management.Provide high-quality, customer-oriented tools and resources to enhance nationwide understanding and implementation of NIMS and NPS.EMAC will support these strategic priorities by supporting the development and implementation of National Qualification System (NQS) work items, Resource Typing (RT) definitions, and mutual aid tools. The EMAC-generated after-action reports, quarterly reports, and reports on demand will provide data that will enhance current and future emergency management initiatives. This cooperative agreement also advances the NPS - the instrument the nation uses to build, sustain, and deliver core capabilities to achieve a secure and resilient nation. Complex and far-reaching threats and hazards require a collaborative, whole-community approach to national preparedness that engages individuals, families, communities, the private and nonprofit sectors, faith-based organizations, and all levels of government. The guidance, programs, processes, and systems that support each component of the NPS promote integrated preparedness efforts that build, sustain, and deliver core capabilities and achieve the National Preparedness Goal's desired outcomes. DHS and FEMA focus on building stronger capabilities across jurisdictions at all levels and with the whole community. All types of mutual aid are integral to efforts that enhance our nation's resilience, ensure an effective response to disasters, and stabilize community lifelines regardless of size, scope, or complexity. The FY 2020 NIMS cooperative agreement objectives outlined below supplement the ongoing collaborative efforts of the NIC and EMAC.
Federal Grant Title: Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 National Incident Management System (NIMS)
Federal Agency Name: Department of Homeland Security - FEMA (DHS-DHS)
Grant Categories: Disaster Prevention and Relief
Type of Opportunity: Discretionary
Funding Opportunity Number: DHS-20-NPD-107-00-01
Type of Funding: Cooperative Agreement
CFDA Numbers: 97.107
CFDA Descriptions: Information not provided
Current Application Deadline: August 17th, 2020
Original Application Deadline: August 17th, 2020
Posted Date: July 17th, 2020
Creation Date: July 17th, 2020
Archive Date: September 17th, 2020
Total Program Funding: $2,000,000
Maximum Federal Grant Award: $2,000,000
Minimum Federal Grant Award: $2,000,000
Expected Number of Awards: 1
Cost Sharing or Matching: No
Last Updated: July 17th, 2020
Applicants Eligible for this Grant
Nonprofits having a 501 (c) (3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
Link to Full Grant Announcement
Grant Announcement Contact
FEMA/National Integration Center
400 C Street SW
Washington, DC 20024
Phone: (202) 384-5008
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 5:30 PM ET
Similar Government Grants
Fiscal Year (FY) 2019 National Incident Management System (NIMS)
Fiscal Year (FY) 2018 National Incident Management System (NIMS)
Fiscal Year (FY) 2017 National Incident Management System (NIMS)
Fiscal Year (FY) 2015 National Incident Management System
FY 2014 National Integration Center/ Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) Cooper...
FY 2010 National Incident Management System
Fiscal Year (FY) 2012 Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) National Incident Man...
Fiscal Year (FY) 2013 National Integration Center/ Emergency Management Assistance Compact...
More Grants from the Department of Homeland Security - FEMA
Other Needs Assistance - Lost Wages
FY20 Flood Mitigation Assistance
FY20 Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities
Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 National Urban Search & Rescue (US&R) Response System Readin...
Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 Homeland Security National Training Program (HSNTP) - Continuing Tra... is not endorsed by, or affiliated with, any government agency. Copyright ©2007-2022