National Coastal Wetland Conservation Grant Program

The summary for the National Coastal Wetland Conservation Grant Program grant is detailed below. This summary states who is eligible for the grant, how much grant money will be awarded, current and past deadlines, Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) numbers, and a sampling of similar government grants. Verify the accuracy of the data provides by visiting the webpage noted in the Link to Full Announcement section or by contacting the appropriate person listed as the Grant Announcement Contact. If any section is incomplete, please visit the website for the Fish and Wildlife Service, which is the U.S. government agency offering this grant.
National Coastal Wetland Conservation Grant Program: The Coastal Wetlands Planning, Protection, and Restoration Act (Section 305, Title III, Public Law 101 646, 16 U.S.C. 3954) established the National Coastal Wetlands Conservation Grant Program (NCWCGP) to acquire, restore, and enhance wetlands in coastal States through competitive matching grants to State agencies. The primary goal of the NCWCGP is the long term conservation of coastal wetland ecosystems. In FY 2015, the NCWCGP will fund 25 individual projects encompassing 11,353 acres of coastal habitat.The Final Rule establishing the requirements for participation in the NCWCGP was published in the Federal Register July 30, 2002 (67 FR 49264). The program regulations are in 50 CFR 84. Additional information about the Program is available online at Before applying for a grant, please carefully review this entire announcement, Attachment A, Clarification of Select Ranking Criteria in 50 CFR 84.32 and General Program Questions, and the program regulations in 50 CFR 84. Coastal wetlands are valued, in part, because they protect against flooding, help maintain water quality, and provide habitat for wildlife. Coastal environments are also important economically, generating billions of dollars annually through such industries as commercial fishing and tourism.The NCWCGP provides States with financial assistance to protect and restore these valuable resources. Projects can include (1) acquisition of a real property interest (e.g., conservation easement or fee title) in coastal lands or waters (coastal wetlands ecosystems) from willing sellers or partners for long term conservation or (2) restoration, enhancement, or management of coastal wetlands ecosystems. All projects must ensure conservation of 20 years or longer. Examples of restoration efforts that may be funded include: Restoring wetland hydrology by plugging drainage ditches, breaking tile drainage systems, installing water control structures, dike construction, or establishing historic connections with waterways, or planting native vegetation and/or removing invasive plants and animals that compete with native fish and wildlife and alter native habitats. We rank applications based on criteria published in 50 CFR 84.32. The funding opportunity announcement is found on our website:
Federal Grant Title: National Coastal Wetland Conservation Grant Program
Federal Agency Name: Fish and Wildlife Service (DOI-FWS)
Grant Categories: Environment
Type of Opportunity: Discretionary
Funding Opportunity Number: F15AS00087
Type of Funding: Grant
CFDA Numbers: 15.614
CFDA Descriptions: Information not provided
Current Application Deadline: June 24th, 2015
Original Application Deadline: June 24th, 2015
Posted Date: February 5th, 2015
Creation Date: February 5th, 2015
Archive Date: February 5th, 2016
Total Program Funding: $16,000,000
Maximum Federal Grant Award: $1,000,000
Minimum Federal Grant Award: $0
Expected Number of Awards: 20
Cost Sharing or Matching: Yes
Last Updated: February 5th, 2015
Applicants Eligible for this Grant
State governments
Additional Information on Eligibility
Eligible applicants are any State agency or entity designated as eligible by the Governor of a coastal State. It is usually a State natural resource or fish and wildlife agency. If your agency is uncertain of its eligibility, please contact the Regional Service WSFR Office (see section VIII., Agency Contacts). The Regional WSFR Offices maintain the list of certified eligible agencies in each coastal State in the Region. Eligible coastal States are States bordering the Great Lakes (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin); States bordering the Atlantic, Gulf (except Louisiana), and Pacific coasts (Alabama, Alaska, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, and Washington); and American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Louisiana is not an eligible coastal State for this program as provided in the Coastal Wetlands Planning, Protection, and Restoration Act (16 U.S.C 3955 (b)(1)). If you would like to be a subgrantee, check with the eligible agency in your State for their deadlines and requirements to apply.
Link to Full Grant Announcement
Grant Announcement Contact
Christy Vigfusson, Chief, Programs Branch, 703-358-1748
Similar Government Grants
National Coastal Wetlands Conservation Grant Program
Coastal Wetlands Planning, Protection and Restoration
National Coastal Wetlands Conservation Grant Program Notice of Availability of Federal Ass...
National Coastal Wetlands Conservation Grant Program
Sensitivity of Adult and Early Life Stage Tropical Corals to Metal Toxicity
More Grants from the Fish and Wildlife Service
Arctic Goose Joint Venture Notice of Funding Opportunity – Fiscal Year 2020
FY21 Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Act Grants
NAWCA FY21 U.S. Small Grants
Implementation of the Quagga and Zebra Mussel Action Plan (QZAP) in the Western United Sta...
FY 2021 Clean Vessel Act (CVA) is not endorsed by, or affiliated with, any government agency. Copyright ©2007-2021